County GovernmentDepartmentsHow Do I?Explore Livingston County
Livingston County Government Center
6 Court St. | Geneseo, NY 14454
Ph: 585-243-7000 | Email Us
HomePrintEmail PageRSSGoogle Maps
Stay Connected
Click to Home

Go To Search

About the Board of Supervisors

Livingston County was founded on February 23, 1821, and consisted of 12 townships: eight taken from Ontario and four from Genesee. However, over the years it has acquired new townships and currently exists as a non-chartered county with 17 towns.


The Livingston County Board of Supervisors consists of 17 town supervisors who are elected officials and serve as your representatives at the county level. A supervisor holds office for either two- or four-year terms and the term is set by each particular town.

Standing Committees
The Board of Supervisors is divided into three Standing Committees. Each committee is chaired and operated by supervisors whose duties are to carry out various aspects of county government. The board elects one member annually to serve as chairman of the board.

Chairman of the Board
The Chairman of the Board is the chief executive officer of the county. It is the duty of the chairman of the board to preside over all board meetings, as well as many various matters pertaining to the county.

County Administrator
The County Administrator is directly responsible to the Board of Supervisors for the overall administration of county government and coordinates the daily operations of county government.

Duties & Responsibilities
  • Establishing and approving policies and local laws
  • Approving the annual budget
  • Approving contracts for projects and services
  • Conducting public hearings
  • Setting county employee salaries
  • Making appointments to boards, committees, and administration

Contact Us
Board of Supervisors

Livingston County Government Center
6 Court Street
Room 302
Geneseo, NY 14454

Ph: 585-243-7030
Ph: 585-335-1701
Fx: 585-243-7045

Staff Directory