Section 8 Housing

The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program enables the lowest income households in New York State to rent decent, safe housing in the private housing market by providing rental assistance. It may help you afford a better place to live, or if you like where you are living now, it may help you pay a portion of your rent. The program also provides assistance to senior citizens and disabled persons on fixed incomes, displaced families, and homeless individuals. A home ownership program is now available for qualified participants.

Livingston County has Housing Choice Vouchers available to eligible applicants and an open waitlist.  Complete a Section 8 Housing Program application or access important Section 8 documents.

Completed applications and any necessary documentation can be returned to: Section 8 Housing Program, 1 Murray Hill Drive, Mt. Morris, NY, 14510.

You may qualify if your total annual household income is not over a set limit, as defined below:

Household Size1234567
Annual Gross Income$31,400$35,900$40,400$44,850$48,450$52,050$55,650

How the Program Works:

  • Application - Complete the preliminary application to be placed on the wait list.
  • Notification - Notify the housing office of all changes while on the wait list. These changes include: household composition, address, phone number and income changes.
  • Enrollment – When contacted, complete an enrollment interview and eligibility determination. More information on the program is provided at that time.
  • Certification - If eligible, you will receive a Housing Choice Voucher.
  • Housing Selection - You then have 60 days to find housing that meets the set standards and affordability limits. Your present dwelling may qualify.
  • Negotiation – Agree on lease terms with your landlord.
  • Agency Review - Affordability of the housing and an inspection of the dwelling is completed.
  • Payments – The landlord receives a predetermined portion of your rent each month from Section 8. You are obligated to pay the rest.
  • Annual Recertifications and Interim Changes - Annual recertifications and housing inspections are required. Any and all changes in income, family composition, etc. must be reported immediately.

Landlord Obligations:

The role of the landlord is to provide decent, safe, and sanitary housing to a tenant at a reasonable rent.  

To be approved for Section 8 payments, landlords need to do the following:

  • Pass HUD Housing Quality Standards inspection
  • Verify legal ownership of rental premises
  • Verify rent amount
  • Complete W-9
  • Provide direct deposit banking information
  • Contract with Public Housing Authority (PHA)
  • Complete landlord section of the Request for Tenancy Approval form

Find information about eviction and foreclosure prevention from New York State Homes and Community Renewal  

Housing Choice Voucher Program Briefing Video:

Housing Choice Voucher Program Briefing Video in English
Housing Choice Voucher Program Briefing Video in Spanish

Information on Fair Housing:

Federal law prohibits housing discrimination based on your race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability. If you have been trying to buy or rent a home or apartment and you believe your civil rights have been violated, you can file a fair housing complaint. Click on the seal above to be directed to the online complaint system.

For more information contact:

HUD regional Office:  (800) 496-4294

Livingston County Fair Housing Officer:  (585) 243-7300  Commissioner of Social Services