Safe Boating Laws and Course(s)
Beginning January 1, 2025, ALL boaters and Personal Watercraft (PWC) operators in New York will be required to have completed a New York State Safe Boating Course.
Learn more about timelines and emerging legislation
The Sheriff's Office will be offering in-person courses, registration is available online only:
Saturday, March 18, 2023 - register here.
Students must be at least 10 years old to attend. A parent or guardian must sign their child in, but need not remain for the class if they so choose. Please bring a photo ID to aid in registration.
The class is eight hours long. Please plan accordingly for lunch and a snack. If you register and then find that you cannot attend, please cancel your registration so that another student may sign-up.
There is no cost to attend, but New York State collects a $10 fee to receive your card.
Learn more about how to take a New York State approved course online